The Real Peter Pan: The Tragic Life of Michael Llewelyn Davies.

Dudgeon, Piers.

Picture of The Real Peter Pan: The Tragic Life of Michael Llewelyn Davies.
Michael was the fourth son of Sylvia and Arthur Llewelyn Davies, and it was he who was the original Peter Pan (despite his elder brother Peter being the namesake of the boy who never grew up). This captivating biography of friendship, love, and childhood innocence is terminated by tragedy. We feel a connection with it all as the son of Peter Llewlyn Davies, (Peter Davies) worked for Brian Clouston, and became our (Tom’s and Sally’s) friend until he died. Indeed we still have his rusty old Raleigh bicycle hanging in our shed.


SKU: 9781849547901


Michael Llewelyn Davies was the fourth of five brothers who provided the inspiration for J. M. Barrie's characters Peter Pan, the Lost Boys and the Darling brothers. Barrie struck up an intense friendship with the children and their parents when he encountered them playing in London's Kensington Gardens, an area that would become the Neverland of his most enduring work. Something of the innocence of Michael, who stood out even among his brothers, went on to influence the creation of Barrie's most famous character, Peter Pan. Such was Barrie's closeness to the Llewelyn Davies family that he became trustee and guardian to the boys following the deaths of their parents. Theirs was an enduring relationship, particularly that between Barrie and Michael, to whom he wrote daily, but it was punctuated by the fiercest of tragedies. Throughout the heart-rending saga of Barrie's involvement with the Llewelyn Davies brothers, it is the figure of Michael, the most original and inspirational of their number, and yet also the one whose fate is most pitiable, that stands out. The Real Peter Pan is a captivating true story of childhood, friendship, war, love and regret.

Book Details

Author Dudgeon, Piers.
Format HC
Publisher Biteback Publishing
Imprint Robson Press
Number of Pages 352
Illustrations 2 x 8pp mono
Publish Date 16/04/2015
Catalogue Aug19
Catalogue book number 22